Alabama Law Firm Explains Implied Consent
Protecting your rights so one mistake doesn’t affect the rest of your life
Millions of people are arrested each year for DUI-related offenses. DUI arrests and convictions often result in significant consequences that affect all aspects of your professional and personal life. At Sree B. Ravi, P.C., Attorney at Law, we have helped many clients work through their DUI arrests and move on with favorable results.
What is the implied consent law?
DUI laws in Alabama are strict and punishing. Merely driving on a public road in Alabama gives law enforcement officers consent to perform field sobriety tests. Alabama adopted an implied consent law, which requires drivers to submit to a Breathalyzer, urine or blood test to determine the level of alcohol or drugs in their system. Failure to submit to a chemical test results in automatic 90-day license suspension for a first offense. A subsequent refusal results in a one-year suspension. A second refusal also includes five days in jail or 30 days of community service. A third refusal results in 60 days of jail time.
Alabama has adopted enhanced penalties for certain DUI offenses
On September 1, 2011, two new DUI laws went into effect in Alabama:
- The super drunk DUI bill — Any person convicted of DUI with a BAC of .15 percent or greater will be sentenced to double what the person would have faced for a BAC below .15 percent. Alabama also uses this sentence enhancement for a person convicted of DUI if a child under the age of 14 was in the vehicle. The offender’s driver license will be suspended for at least one year for a first offense.
- The ignition interlock bill — This bill provides that an ignition interlock device must be installed in the offender’s vehicle following a DUI conviction under certain circumstances: A BAC of .15 percent or higher, a child under 14 present in the vehicle, the offender refusing to submit to a sobriety test, or someone other than the offender being injured. The ignition interlock requires the driver to blow into the device before starting the vehicle. If the BAC is above .02 percent, the car will not start. The device must be blown into every few minutes to prevent the car from turning off.
Our law firm has helped numerous clients fight Alabama’s implied consent law and maintain their driving privileges. To successfully fight a DUI charge, you need a knowledgeable DUI lawyer who understands the specific laws pertaining to your case and the county’s legal system.
Contact a Huntsville DUI law firm with a proven record of success
At Sree B. Ravi, P.C., Attorney at Law, we are your strongest ally in the courtroom. We are conveniently located in Huntsville near the Madison County Courthouse. We offer weekend and evening appointments for your convenience. Contact us online or call us at 256-937-1540 to schedule a free initial consultation.